Page 1 of 3

New Ricoh GR firmware (3.0)

PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2014 1:32 pm
by macfiend
Here is link with details about the update - the English PDF version PDF file.

http://www.ricoh-imaging.co.jp/engli.../gr_vup_en.pdf

And here's the page for the download:

http://www.ricoh-imaging.co.jp/engli...ital/gr_s.html

Re: New Ricoh GR firmware (3.0)

PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2014 1:35 pm
by macfiend
Wrong link for PDF. Sorry.

Try this one.

http://www.ricoh-imaging.co.jp/english/ ... /gr_s.html

Re: New Ricoh GR firmware (3.0)

PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2014 1:46 pm
by ycp13
So still no ISO lock for TAv mode...
Why are they so stubborn?

Re: New Ricoh GR firmware (3.0)

PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2014 1:53 pm
by Kaver
ycp13 wrote:So still no ISO lock for TAv mode...
Why are they so stubborn?

You can also lock the iso at 8000 on TAv mode, you know?

Re: New Ricoh GR firmware (3.0)

PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2014 5:09 pm
by Kaver
What is the "ambient brightness" option on the new 3.0 GR firmware?
Thanks

Re: New Ricoh GR firmware (3.0)

PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2014 5:19 pm
by ycp13
Kaver wrote:
ycp13 wrote:So still no ISO lock for TAv mode...
Why are they so stubborn?

You can also lock the iso at 8000 on TAv mode, you know?


How?
What did I miss?

Re: New Ricoh GR firmware (3.0)

PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2014 5:20 pm
by paulgiguere
I too am wondering what this setting actually does. The manual addendum says:

Added [Ambient Brightness]
It has two options: [Original] or [Normal] (The default setting is [Normal]). [Original] enables you to take pictures with the ambient light quantities comparable to those of the GR film cameras. In this mode, ORIG appears on the shooting screen.

I wonder if this setting is playing with the exposure setting or doing something on the lines of what the Dynamic Range option does?

Paul

Re: New Ricoh GR firmware (3.0)

PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2014 5:26 pm
by Kaver
ycp13 wrote:
Kaver wrote:
ycp13 wrote:So still no ISO lock for TAv mode...
Why are they so stubborn?

You can also lock the iso at 8000 on TAv mode, you know?


How?
What did I miss?

Just read here ;) http://www.pentaxforums.com/news/tips-a ... oh-gr.html on "TAv Mode ISO Ceiling"

Re: New Ricoh GR firmware (3.0)

PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2014 5:33 pm
by Kaver
paulgiguere wrote:I too am wondering what this setting actually does. The manual addendum says:

Added [Ambient Brightness]
It has two options: [Original] or [Normal] (The default setting is [Normal]). [Original] enables you to take pictures with the ambient light quantities comparable to those of the GR film cameras. In this mode, ORIG appears on the shooting screen.

I wonder if this setting is playing with the exposure setting or doing something on the lines of what the Dynamic Range option does?

Paul

Mhm, really don't know..
From what I understand, however, only works on jpeg.

Re: New Ricoh GR firmware (3.0)

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 9:58 pm
by t-legiaw
paulgiguere wrote:I too am wondering what this setting actually does. The manual addendum says:

Added [Ambient Brightness]
It has two options: [Original] or [Normal] (The default setting is [Normal]). [Original] enables you to take pictures with the ambient light quantities comparable to those of the GR film cameras. In this mode, ORIG appears on the shooting screen.

I wonder if this setting is playing with the exposure setting or doing something on the lines of what the Dynamic Range option does?

Paul

No - It fixes my display preview issue :-)

See http://ricohforum.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f=72&t=11448&p=63865#p63615.