Silkypix Developer Studio PRO (EN) is now Release Candidate!

Discussion forum about SILKYPIX RAW developer
Forum rules
Dedicated Silkypix forum can be found here:
http://www.silkypixforum.com

Silkypix Developer Studio PRO (EN) is now Release Candidate!

Postby odklizec » Wed Jul 01, 2009 8:45 pm

After months of waiting, English version of SP PRO is finally Release Candidate! :) There is no English manual yet, but otherwise it's fully functional RC. You can get the trial version here:
https://www.isl.co.jp/SILKYPIX/english/dsp_rc.html

Unfortunately, there is no glimpse of MAC version yet (neither Japanese nor English). But I'm happy to report that the Windows version of SP PRO works flawlessly via Parallels Desktop. I expected CPU at 100%, cooling fans throttling at maximum speed and slower operation but it actually works pretty good! It's even faster than native MAC version of SP3! SP PRO speed and CPU usage has been greatly improved over the SP3. So there is no problem using it at almost full speed even in virtualized system. Hope to see native MAC version soon (before the end of this year;) ).
Pavel Kudrys
---
Flickr gallery:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/odklizec/
User avatar
odklizec
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6036
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 5:10 pm
Location: Today in Slovakia

Re: Silkypix Developer Studio PRO (EN) is now Release Candidate!

Postby socket » Thu Jul 02, 2009 4:28 am

So this is the version 4?

I've been waiting to buy version 4 of Silky Pix, so it'll be great if version 4 is ready before my version 3 trial period expires. (Which is soon!)

I only have another couple of hundred photos to process from my vacation... :roll: :lol:
A happy GX100 and GXR owner - http://www.pbase.com/socket
socket
Site Supporter
 
Posts: 287
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Silkypix Developer Studio PRO (EN) is now Release Candidate!

Postby odklizec » Thu Jul 02, 2009 9:23 am

Yes and now ;) There is a little confusion regarding the SP 4.0 and SP PRO. SP4 is based of SP PRO core but with feature from SP3 (with some, rather minor, feature additions). The main advantage of SP4 should be its speed. See the SP3/SP4 feature comparison here:
http://www.shortcutinc.com/cms/index.php?id=248

SP PRO, on the other hand, is new major version with load of new features and boosted processing speed. The price will be probably a bit higher than in case of SP4. If you are interested, here is the list of SP3 and SP PRO differences:
http://www.isl.co.jp/SILKYPIX/english/u ... tails.html

In my opinion, SP PRO is definitely worth an upgrade or purchasing full SP PRO instead of SP3/4. But if you are happy with SP3 features and all you need is faster processing, SP4 is probably the best choice for you. Both SP4 and SP PRO price is yet to be seen.
Pavel Kudrys
---
Flickr gallery:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/odklizec/
User avatar
odklizec
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6036
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 5:10 pm
Location: Today in Slovakia

Re: Silkypix Developer Studio PRO (EN) is now Release Candidate!

Postby socket » Sat Aug 01, 2009 10:03 pm

There is now a SilkyPix Developer Studio 4.0 RC version available here:

http://www2.isl.co.jp/SILKYPIX/english/ ... in_ds4.cgi

Hmmm ... maybe I don't know what to look for (not having much experience with these programs), but I've found both v3 and PRO trial versions very easy to use. So I don't know why people are say they are not. 8-)

Do we know the prices yet?
A happy GX100 and GXR owner - http://www.pbase.com/socket
socket
Site Supporter
 
Posts: 287
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Silkypix Developer Studio PRO (EN) is now Release Candidate!

Postby socket » Fri Aug 07, 2009 2:38 pm

A major difference (for me) between PRO and v4 seems to be the batch processing.

Am I right to think that PRO is the only version with a 'background' development. So that I can send my photos to be developed while I'm working on others?

I seem to always have to wait for the JPEG to be created in v4 - before I can work with another photo. Maybe I'm not setting up my development queue correctly?
A happy GX100 and GXR owner - http://www.pbase.com/socket
socket
Site Supporter
 
Posts: 287
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Silkypix Developer Studio PRO (EN) is now Release Candidate!

Postby odklizec » Sat Aug 08, 2009 1:51 pm

Hi Socket,

I think the "on background" batch development is really only in PRO version. All version (3.0, 4.0 and PRO) can do batch, but only PRO can do background queue. Unfortunately, my RC is now expired so I cannot confirm that.
Pavel Kudrys
---
Flickr gallery:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/odklizec/
User avatar
odklizec
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6036
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 5:10 pm
Location: Today in Slovakia

Re: Silkypix Developer Studio PRO (EN) is now Release Candidate!

Postby socket » Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:15 pm

Thanks for your reply. I'll have to take a closer look at the v4 (v3) documentation to see how the batch processing works in those versions. Certainly, having background queue processing is much more convenient than having to wait the 5-10 seconds it takes to develop a picture.

Reading comments in this and other forums, everyone seems to have concluded that GX100 should be sharpened. However, I must confess, I've developed the same picture with 'Natural', 'Emphatic' and 'Natural Pure Detail' and can't really tell the difference. Am I doing something wrong? :oops:
A happy GX100 and GXR owner - http://www.pbase.com/socket
socket
Site Supporter
 
Posts: 287
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 11:26 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada


Return to SILKYPIX

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest