Page 1 of 1

Dust? GDR strip down?

PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 1:44 pm
by ZDP-189
I seem to have a dust spot similar to this: link.

It comes into focus at high aperture numbers, so I presume it's either on the sensor or the back of the lens - a simple repair, not a clean room job. does anybody have a strip-down guide for the GRD II, please?

Re: Dust? GDR strip down?

PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 2:10 pm
by 33dollars
Don't have a strip down guide but I have a similar dust dot on my Ricoh R8.

Re: Dust? GDR strip down?

PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 2:16 pm
by odklizec
I'm sorry to hear that. The first thing I would try is the vacuum cleaner (to suck the dust out of the light path) ;)

As for the disassembly, I can only point you to the GRDI strip-down procedure described (in pictures) here:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/72611934@N ... 794831744/

Re: Dust? GDR strip down?

PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 3:25 pm
by ZDP-189
Thanks for the commiserations, Phil and thanks for the help Pavel. From the flickr set, it looks like a hellish process. Info like "do not remove the top screw" are incredibly useful. I'm not sure I want to attempt this now, but I suppose the repair will cost more than a replacement. I will try high pressure air first.

Re: Dust? GDR strip down?

PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 7:59 pm
by 33dollars
I'm going to give my beloved work camera a decent burial. I'm putting if forward for KAP.
Working on a Picavet & fly time right now.

Re: Dust? GDR strip down?

PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 10:51 am
by ZDP-189
The dust spot wasn't too big but I like to shoot stopped down when light permits to make the most of th DoF.

I tried lots of possible solutions. I shook it, I gave it some firm raps into my palm. I gave it some firm raps into my palm. I sealed it in a bag and gave it 15mins immersed in a 40kHz ultrasound machine. I vibrated it with a pneumatic piston (about 30Hz). I blew high pressure air into it. I vacuumed it. I did just about all I could do without abusing it. The dust spot didn't move at all, which means it was adhered to, as opposed to stuck on, the sensor.

In the end, I decided that to only way to clean it was to strip it and that involved an almost complete disassembly. I would likely do it more damage than I could fix. I realised it would be more cost and time effective to simply trade it in and buy a replacement pre-owned one, which I have now done. Strangely, though there are many on the market there are few without dust. It's the first thing to check. I suspect it's due to flaking inside the machine.

Re: Dust? GDR strip down?

PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:40 pm
by odklizec
I'm sorry to hear that .Did you consider sending it to Ricoh? I guess the dust cleaning service should be relative cheap? Definitely not as costly as for example lens assembly exchange ;) I believe some users even reported free of charge cleaning? You can't lose anything asking them for a quote. I would leave the disassembly as a very last option. You risk even more dust to enter in!

Re: Dust? GDR strip down?

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 4:41 am
by ZDP-189
The exchange cost about $35. I got one in a better overall condition. Same for same would be about $25. I agree Ricoh service are pretty good here it's not under warranty and transport and parking to drop off and pick up would have been similar to the replacement/upgrade.

The real points of my post are:

(1) Almost all the used GRD II cameras tested had dust spots, so buyers of GRD II's (and other models) should definitely test for spots.

(2) Flawed cameras included cameras in as new in box condition. These had no visible signs of use, not the kind of camera that had years of hard use in dusty environments, so there's a good chance that it's a flaw with bits flaking off the inside rather than a dud seal.

(3) There's no way to shift the spot yourself, short of engaging in this kind of (glorious) lunacy:

Image

Re: Dust? GDR strip down?

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 4:26 am
by ZDP-189
Hong Kong based Ricoh fans will be encouraged to know that I have found an indpendent repair shop that is willing to strip a GRDII and clean the sensor for only HK$200 (US$25).

It's a hole-in-the-wall place at unit F21B on the 1st floor of Sincere Plaza, Mongkok. Tel: 2398 1444.

I haven't tried their service, so I can't vouch for them.

Re: Dust? GDR strip down?

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:52 pm
by tonywu
@ZDP-189
I have the exactly same issue on my GR 2 !!!! I found that the dust dot is more serious as i increase the focal ratio to above 5 so i assume it's dust in the aperture.
Does anyone know if Ricoh has any cleaning service in Ontario, Canada?
thanks
Tony