higlight recovery (silkypix)

Discussion about Ricoh GR Digital II

higlight recovery (silkypix)

Postby odklizec » Wed Nov 28, 2007 7:42 pm

Someone asked for an example of highlight recovery. I'm now testing Silkypix so here is one quick sample how shooting in RAW and processing the file manually may significantly help your highlights ;)

Please, bear in mind that I'm not a Silkypix expert, so the highlight recovery may not be final! In this example I only tried to fix the highlights, nothing else (hence the chromatic aberration).
R0011532_raw_silkypix_recovery_crop.jpg
(760.23 KiB) Downloaded 4289 times
Pavel Kudrys
---
Flickr gallery:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/odklizec/
odklizec
Site Admin

Re: higlight recovery (silkypix)

Postby PeterLeyssens » Wed Nov 28, 2007 9:56 pm

Hi Pavel,

Very nice example of how much one can recover using raw and a good raw processor. I don't have a digital camera now and the Ricoh GR-D and GR-D II are the two cameras that look like they're closest to what I'd be replacing them with: my Leica thread mount camera that I use 400ISO B&W film in for a rough look. I'd been torn between the new and the old version, though, because the GR-D has already proven itself as far as the rough look of high ISO pictures is concerned, whereas there were doubts about the dynamic range and some other image quality related things of the GR-D II. In the last week or so, you've been working hard to explore the possibilities of the new camera and you've convinced at least me that it's not necessary at all to compromise on raw speed for higher picture quality. Maybe even on the contrary: it looks like the GR-D II is capable of beating its predecessor in most areas. That makes my life a lot easier in deciding which camera to go for.